Skip to content
Saturday, September 19, 2020 - Next School Day is Cycle Day M on September 21

School Board of Directors

The York Suburban School Board of Directors

The York Suburban School Board invites you to be a partner in education. We seek your input as we strive to provide the atmosphere and opportunity for academic excellence.

2019-11-18 Board Group Picture resized revised

Standing (left to right):  Richard M. Robinson, Kathy Ciaciulli (Secretary), Ellen C. Freireich, Steven P. Scalet, Michael J. Thoman, James R. Sanders, Steven T. Sullivan, Timothy P. Williams (Superintendent), Seated (left to right):  Joel L. Sears (Treasurer), John H. Posenau (President), Lois Ann Schroeder (Vice President), Sophia Guyer (Student Representative)

Virtual Meeting Link
The link to each public meeting will be available here five minutes before the meeting start time.

2020-09-16 Academic Standards and Curriculum followed by Policy Committee Meetings Live Link 


Use the Public Comment Form Button below to submit your public comment for the next School Board or Committee Meeting.

Upcoming Events

Board Member's Email

John Posenau, President
Term expires 2023

Lois Ann Schroeder, Vice-President
Term expires 2023

Ellen Freireich
Term expires 2021

Richard Robinson
Term expires 2023

James Sanders
Term expires 2021

Steven Scalet
Term expires 2021

Joel Sears, Treasurer
Term expires 2023

Steven Sullivan
Term expires 2021

Michael Thoman
Term expires 2023

2019-20 District Goals

  • Develop career exploration opportunities both inside and outside of the classroom while maintaining strong academics.  (Measurement:  revamped curriculum and internship and externship opportunities)

  • Use student achievement data to refine curriculum to better address the academic standards resulting in improved longitudinal academic achievement.  (Measurement:  Future Ready Index, PVAAS)

  • Collaborate with outside organizations to promote wellbeing of students and staff.  (Measurement:  MS Pilot course evaluation, reduced disciplinary incidents, social worker data, reduced employee absences)

  • Engage elected officials in advocating for appropriate funding.  (Measurement:  Legislative changes)

York Suburban School Board Statement of Principles

Pennsylvania school boards are committed to providing every student the opportunity grow and achieve.  The actions taken by the board ultimately have both short and long-term impact in the classroom.  Therefore, school directors collectively and individually will . . .

Advocate Earnestly

  • Promote public education as a keystone of democracy
  • Engage the community by seeking input, building support networks and generating action
  • Champion public education by engaging members of local, state and federal legislative bodies

Lead Responsibly

  • Prepare for, attend and actively participate in Board meetings
  • Work together in a spirit of harmony, respect and cooperation
  • Participate in professional development, training and Board retreats
  • Collaborate with the Superintendent as the Team of 10

Govern Effectively

  • Adhere to an established set of rules and procedures for Board operations
  • Develop, adopt, revise and review policy
  • Align decisions to policy
  • Differentiate between governance and management, delegating management tasks to administration
  • Allocate finances and resources
  • Ensure compliance with local, state and federal laws

Plan Thoughtfully

  • Adopt and implement a collaborative comprehensive planning process, including regular reviews
  • Set annual goals that are aligned with the comprehensive plan
  • Develop a financial plan that anticipates both short and long-term needs
  • Formulate a master facilities plan conducive to teaching and learning

Evaluate Continuously

  • Utilize appropriate data to make informed decisions
  • Use effective practices for the evaluation of the Superintendent
  • Assess student growth and achievement
  • Review effectiveness of the comprehensive plan

Communicate Clearly

  • Promote open, honest and respectful dialogue among the Board, staff and community
  • Encourage input and support for the District from the school community
  • Protect confidentiality
  • Honor the sanctity of executive session

Act Ethically

  • Never use the position for improper benefit to self or others
  • Act to avoid actual of perceived conflicts of interest
  • Recognize the absence of authority outside of the collective Board
  • Respect the role, authority and input of the Superintendent
  • Balance the responsibility to provide educational programs with being stewards of community resources
  • Abide by the majority decision

Board Policy 011

A School Board is comprised of nine elected residents who serve four-year terms of office. Information is available here for those interested in running for School Board. Additional information can be found at York County Department of Elections and Voter Registration.